The Story of Ferdinand by Munro Leaf

The Story of Ferdinand by Munro Leaf is a classic children’s picture book that I am sure I must have read at some point before, but I don’t remember having enjoyed it as much as I did this time.  Ferdinand, a young bull born in Spain, does not enjoy boisterously rollicking with the other young bulls, but instead loves to sit calmly under a tree smelling flowers.  When some men come to town to choose a bull to fight in Madrid, Ferdinand is satisfied that he will not be picked to go.  Just as the men are looking over the bulls, Ferdinand sits on a bee and is stung, causing him to buck wildly about in pain.  The men mistake his actions for the behavior of a very wild beast and take him to fight.  When he is taken into the ring,lots of men try to get Ferdinand to fight, but instead he just sits down and enjoys the smell of the flowers that the ladies who are watching are wearing.  Eventually, he is taken home where he happily returns to sitting under his favorite tree smelling flowers.

Pros: An adorable story that made me, as well as my children, laugh.

Cons: None that I could find.  🙂

Age Range: 3-9

5 of 5

1 Comment

Filed under Recommended Reads

One response to “The Story of Ferdinand by Munro Leaf

  1. I had this book as a child, and I loved it. I can still remember my mom reading it to me and later reading it by myself.

Leave a Reply

