Aesop’s Fables

Aesop's FablesWe recently finished reading a compilation of Aesop’s Fables.  So much wisdom is packed into each concise story that we had to take reading this one slowly so I could make sure that my older girls really understood the meaning behind the stories.  I knew for sure that at least something had sunk in thanks to my 4-year old’s responses to me when I fussed at her for dragging out her chores.  She said, “Mom, slow and steady wins the race!”  Her excuse did make me giggle!

Pros: A group of stories that can be read in shorter spurts, so are suitable for a wide variety of ages.  I enjoyed that every story is different – funny, sobering, or exciting – yet, they all teach a valuable lesson.

Cons: After reading more than 100 pages of this book some of the stories started to sound alike.  I found that I would skip to the end of each and review the moral to the story to see if it was overly similar to ones we had already read.

Age Range: 3-Adult

Leave a comment

Filed under Recommended Reads

Leave a Reply

